BSP Parasites Online 2021


For 2021, in place of our usual Spring Meeting, our main annual meeting will be held online over five days during the Summer (21st-25th June). We have an exciting programme of scientific content, which will be delivered through a virtual conference interface designed to maximise opportunities for interaction, through live Q&A sessions, breakout discussion rooms and virtual trade stands for our exhibitors and sponsors.

All oral presentations will need to be pre-recorded and uploaded to the site, and then broadcast during the assigned slot. Presenters will be asked to be available for a live Q&A session at the end of their assigned slot. This approach should minimise any issues associated with poor internet connections, while maintaining an element of live face to face interaction. Presenters will have the option of making their content available on the conference website for a period of 1 year, but can opt out of this without issue. Full instructions and details on all of this will be provided after you submit an abstract.

The meeting will run across two streams. Our main science stream will incorporate our usual mix of varied high quality themed scientific sessions, keynote speakers and presentations by postgraduate and postdoctoral researchers. Our second, specialist stream, will include: (1) A series of talks from the Infectious Diseases Data Observatory (IDDO;; (2) Sessions focused on schistosomiasis, curated by Prof Mike Doenhoff and Prof Tony Walker; (3) A session on gender and racial equality in science, focusing on what we as parasitologists can do to address those issues.

There will also be interactive poster sessions, where delegates will have the opportunity for discussion with poster presenters (although this year we’re sorry to say that you will have to bring your own refreshments).

Click on the links above to register and/or submit an abstract!

Registration charges for the full 5 day meeting:
> Members: £90
> Students: £30
> Member in low-income countries: FREE; note also that researchers in LMIC and Least Developed Countries can join BSP FOR FREE.
> Non-members: £180

We are very pleased to announce the following confirmed invited speakers:

Prof Maria-Gloria Basanez (Imperial College London)
Dr Emma Briggs (University of Glasgow)
Dr Krystyna Cwiklinski (University of Ireland Galway)
Dr Carmen Faso (University of Bern)
Prof Phillipe Guerin (Infectious Disease Data Observatory)
Prof Neil Hall (Earlham Institute)
Prof Matt Higgins (Oxford University)
Prof Achim Hoerauf (University Hospital Bonn)
Dr Rhys Jones (Aberystwyth University)
Dr Ben Makepeace (Liverpool School)
Prof Eric Morgan (Queen’s University Belfast)
Dr Russ Morphew (Aberystwyth University)
Prof Sarah Reece (University of Edinburgh)
Prof Koert Ritmijer (Médecins Sans Frontières)
Dr Claire Rogers (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine)
Prof Bernd Sures (Universität Duisburg-Essen)

Prof Mitali Chatterjee (Infectious Diseases Data Observatory)
Dr Prabin Dahal (Infectious Diseases Data Observatory)
Dr Martin Walker (Royal Veterinary College)
Dr Nathalie Strub-Wourgraft (Drugs for Neglected Tropical Diseases Initiative)
Prof Sir Nicholas White (University of Oxford)

Dr Regina Cordy (Wake Forest University)
Dr Elisabeth English (University of Pennsylvania)
Prof Elena Gomez-Diaz (Institute of Parasitology and Biomedicine Lopez-Neyra)
Prof Debbie Smith (University of York)
Prof Santuza Teixeira (Federal University of Minas Gerais)

Prof Coen Adema (University of New Mexico)
Prof Matt Berriman (Wellcome Sanger Institute)
Dr Conor Caffrey (University of California San Diego)
Prof Dan Colley (University of Georgia)
Dr Jim Collins (University of Texas Southwestern Medical Centre)
Prof Christoph Grevelding (Justus Liebig Universitat Giessen)
Prof Peter Hotez (Baylor College of Medicine)
Prof Andrew McDonald (University of Manchester)
Prof Joanne Webster (Imperial College London)

Venue: Web Event
Organiser Contact Details:
Julian Fuller

T: 01234 211015